New Customisable User Groups Give You Full Control Over Access Permissions
Looking at our competition in the market place – which is getting more crowded every day – the likes of Basecamp only offer predefined settings which users can’t change. Huddle has the concept of teams and a massive guide to go with it, and lets not go into Zoho – you will need “Zoho for Dummies” to understand it all. But it’s inevitable that as an app grows, so do the various complexities of managing user permissions.
Business needs are always evolving and today’s requirements might not work tomorrow: some want clients to have access to projects alone; some need clients to create tasks on the projects; and some need varying levels of access for the internal team, i.e. a junior might not need access to invoices. In some cases freelancers or contractors are actual project managers and will need to see the financials and accounts to better manage projects and teams. All this and more is now in your total control.
Now when you create a new business or log in to an existing one, you have a new tab in your business setting "group permissions". Here you will find four new presets: Administrator, Manager, Client and Team (details below), these are what we call “system presets” they can not be deleted or edited. These might work for you from the word go, or you might want to amend them by duplicating or selecting the “add” option to start a fresh. Always remember to save!
Administrators can do almost anything, including accessing business settings and user privileges.
They can only view projects they have been assigned to as a participant. They can create discussions and comments. They can view all the files uploaded to Skylight, though users with Google Docs or Google Apps accounts can control individual file permissions using the Google file sharing settings on each file. They can also view Invoices for each project they are a participant of.
They have access to all areas, except business settings and access group privileges.
This is a fairly reasonable access level for someone working internally within a company on a project level. It only allows the user to see projects they have been assigned to and every thing within the project without access to financials or accounts. They can update timers on tasks, add comments, files and timers. They can’t see contacts, rates, accounts or any of the system admin settings.
Permission groups section is only available to the administrators. They can create and assign new presets or give other users access to the section to do so.
"Switch" - for the peace of mind and security
As the old Jedi master said “…with great power comes a great responsibility” so as an administrator who is responsible for what data is seen by any internal and external collaborator, its also important to know what each preset does. We have solved this by creating a way for admin users to switch user profiles.
The new “Switch” option lives right under your company name(image above), selecting this “Switch ” option will temporarily allow you to chose a saved permission group and browse your account with the profile. This gives you the ability to check what the other user will see before shipping out access privileges to new users. A must have feature for your security and piece of mind.
Let us know how we can improve on this, the places to visit is ofcource the app itself. We still have those free accounts going. once logged-in you can access our forum and get involved in the discussion on what you need from Skylight or if you prefer a more social route then connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.
May the force be with you.